For more information about the consolidation of Georgia Southern University and Armstrong State University, visit consolidation.georgiasouthern.edu.
h > Current Students > Facilities & Activities > Student Organizations

Student Organizations

Involvement in a student organization is just one of many ways for Armstrong students to get involved on campus. In case you are not aware, involved students earn better grades, stay in school, and feel more satisfied with their college experience and graduate on time. Ultimately involved students are more marketable when job searching and applying to grad school because students who actively participate outside of the classroom gain valuable experience in the practical aspects of leadership, communication, risk management and teamwork.

At Armstrong, student organizations have the privilege of reserving space on campus, advertising in the student life calendar and other venues, and maintaining a campus mailbox. One of the most important benefits of being a registered student organization is access to the staff in the Office of Student Life, assistance in program planning, risk management, conflict resolution, fundraising or other issues related to your student organization. Plus, student organizations add an important component to campus life by providing an outlet for the student voice to be heard and a vehicle for students to have a substantial impact on campus.

There are various types of organizations in which you can be involved:

Academic

Academic

ARMSTRONG ASSOCIATION OF NURSING STUDENTS (AANS)

ARMSTRONG ASSOCIATION OF NURSING STUDENTS (AANS)

A local chapter of the National Student Nurses Association for nursing majors and pre-nursing students interested in fostering professional nursing role development and community service.

Advisor: Amber Derksen
Dept: Nusring
Phone: 912.344.2900
Amber.Derksen@Armstrong.edu

ARMSTRONG PRE-PHARMACY CLUB

ARMSTRONG PRE-PHARMACY CLUB

A student organization for undergraduates who plan to pursue careers in pharmacy.

Advisor: Suzanne Carpenter
Department: Chemistry & Physics
Phone: 912.344.3255
Suzanne.Carpenter@armstrong.edu

ASSOCIATION FOR COMPUTING & MACHINERY (ACM)

ASSOCIATION FOR COMPUTING & MACHINERY (ACM)

A group dedicated to the promotion of interest in computing machinery.

Advisor: Hong Zhang
Dept: Computer Science & Information Technology
Phone: 912.344.3151
hong.zhang@armstrong.edu
armstrong.acm@gmail.com

BIOLOGY CLUB

BIOLOGY CLUB

Open to all biology majors and anyone interested in biology.

armstrongbioclub@gmail.com
Advisor: Jennifer Brofft-Bailey
Dept: Biology
Phone: 912.344.2896
Jennifer.Bailey@armstrong.edu

ECONOMICS CLUB

ECONOMICS CLUB

This organization is dedicated to providing educational and recreational opportunities to all members of the Armstrong community interested in economics. Activities reflect the interests of our members.

armstrongeconclub@gmail.com OR liquiditytraps@armstrong.edu
Advisor: Yassaman Saadatmand
Dept: Economics
Phone: 912.344.3202
Yassaman.Saadatmand@armstrong.edu

FRENCH CLUB (CERCLE FRANCAIS)

FRENCH CLUB (CERCLE FRANCAIS)

A local group that promotes interest in and awareness of the French and Francophone culture and language.

Advisor: Dorothee Mertz-Weigel
Dept: Languages, Literature & Philosophy
Phone: 912.344.2804
Dorothee.Mertz-Weigel@armstrong.edu

FUTURE HEALTHCARE LEADERS ASSOCIATION

FUTURE HEALTHCARE LEADERS ASSOCIATION

Description coming soon. 

Advisor: Lesley Clack
Dept: Health Sciences
Phone: 912.344.2548
lesley.clack@armstrong.edu

HEALTH AND PHYSICAL EDUCATION CLUB

HEALTH AND PHYSICAL EDUCATION CLUB

To promote interest and active participation in the fields of health, physical education and recreation.

Advisor: Lynn Roberts
Dept: Secondary, Adult and Physical Education
Phone: 912.344.3096
Lynn.Roberts@armstrong.edu
 

HEALTH SCIENCES STUDENT ASSOCIATION

HEALTH SCIENCES STUDENT ASSOCIATION

Promotes interest and awareness of health sciences among students, faculty, and practitioners.

Advisor: Dr. Robert LeFavi
Dept: Health Sciences
Phone: 912.344.3208
Robert.LeFavi@armstrong.edu

INSTITUTE FOR HEALTHCARE IMPROVEMENT (IHI)

INSTITUTE FOR HEALTHCARE IMPROVEMENT (IHI)

Promotes excellence in the next generation of health care providers and to provide students with opportunities to develop their understanding of the magnitude of safe, quality patient care.

AASUIHISAVANNAH@gmail.com
Advisor: Janet Buelow
Dept: Health Sciences
Phone: 912.344.3075
Janet.Buelow@armstrong.edu

NATIONAL STUDENT SPEECH, LANGUAGE, AND HEARING ASSOCIATION

NATIONAL STUDENT SPEECH, LANGUAGE AND HEARING ASSOCIATION

An organization for students interested in the study of normal and disordered human communication behaviors.

nsslha@armstrong.edu
Advisor: April Garrity
Dept: Communication Sciences & Disorders
Phone: 912.344.2864
April.Garrity@armstrong.edu

PHI ALPHA DELTA (PRE-LAW FRATERNITY)

PHI ALPHA DELTA (PRE-LAW FRATERNITY)

An international organization for pre-law majors.

Advisor: Chris Tecklenburg IV
Dept: Criminal Justice, Social & Political Science
Phone: 912.344.3160
Chris.Tecklenburg@armstrong.edu

PHYSICAL THERAPY CLUB

PHYSICAL THERAPY CLUB

A club for physical therapy graduate students that promotes the profession of physical therapy and contributes toward the improvement of the health of the public.

ArmstrongPT@armstrong.edu
Advisor: Anne Thompson
Dept: Rehabilitation Sciences
Phone: 912.344.2737
Anne.Thompson@armstrong.edu

PRE-DENTAL CLUB

PRE-DENTAL CLUB

An organization dedicated to inform and prepare students interested in a career in the field of dentistry by providing information and support through peer networking and advisement.

Advisor: Sherri Cannon
Dept: Biology
Phone: 912.344.3325
sherri.cannon@armstrong.edu

PRE-MED ASSOCIATION

PRE-MED ASSOCIATION

An organization to provide information and support for members through peer networking and faculty advisement geared to the pursuit of a medical career.

Advisors: Mitch Weiland / Sara Gremillion
Dept: Chemistry and Physics / Biology
Phone: 912.344.2706 / 912.344.2671
Mitch.Weiland@armstrong.edu / Sara.Gremillion@armstrong.edu

RESPIRATORY THERAPY CLUB

RESPIRATORY THERAPY CLUB

An organization that promotes interest in respiratory care.

Advisor: Doug Masini
Dept: Respiratory Therapy
Phone: 912.344.2891
Douglas.Masini@armstrong.edu

RHO TAU (PRE-PHYSICAL THERAPY ORGANIZATION)

RHO TAU (PRE-PHYSICAL THERAPY ORGANIZATION)

The objectives of this chapter are to guide and council prospective physical therapy students in the Armstrong community.

rho.tau.asu@gmail.com
Advisor: Frank Glenn
Dept: Rehabilitation Sciences
Phone: 912.344.3341
Frank.Glenn@armstrong.edu

STUDENT ENGINEERING SOCIETY

STUDENT ENGINEERING SOCIETY

Description coming soon. 

Advisor: Priya Goeser
Phone: 912.344.2874
Department: Engineering Studies  
Priya.Goeser@armstrong.edu

Faith Based

Faith Based

BAPTIST COLLEGIATE MINISTRY

BAPTIST COLLEGIATE MINISTRY

An organization that seeks to enable students and faculty to experience and grow in the real dimensions of the Christian faith.

armstrongbcmstudents@gmail.com
Campus Minister: Tony Branham
Advisor: Lynn Roberts
Dept: Secondary, Adult, & Physical Education
Lynn.Roberts@armstrong.edu
Phone: 912.344.3096
http://www.armstrongbcm.org

CHI ALPHA MINISTRY

CHI ALPHA MINISTRY

An inter-denominational christian alliance that unites all faith based groups.

Campus Minister: Brian Friday
Brian.friday@theseedchurch.com
Advisor: Elizabeth Desnoyers-Colas
Dept: Art, Music, & Theatre
Phone: 912.344.3190
Elizabeth.Desnoyers-Colas@armstrong.edu
​http://www.facebook.com/chialphasavannah

NEW COVENANT UNIVERSITY FELLOWSHIP

NEW COVENANT UNIVERSITY FELLOWSHIP

Description coming soon. 

Advisor: Tobe Frierson
Phone: 912.334.2658
Dept: Admissions and Recruitment- Graduate
tobe.frierson@armstrong.edu

SEEK

SEEK

An organization for Catholic students to connect and enjoy social and religious occasions at Armstrong.

Advisor: John Hobe
Phone: 912.344.2619
Dept: Childhood & Exceptional Student Education
John.Hobe@armstrong.edu

YOUNG LIFE

YOUNG LIFE

Description coming soon. 

Advisor: Glenn Gibney
Phone: 912.344.3248
Dept: Student Affairs
glenn.gibney@armstrong.edu

Special Interest

Special Interest

AASU ANNOINTED VOICES CHOIR

AASU ANNOINTED VOICES CHOIR

The purpose of this choir is to foster awareness of gospel music to college students and the general public, to promote interest in African American singing, academic performance, and unity among the student body.

Advisor: Maxine Bryant
Phone: 912.344.3602
Dept: Criminal Justice, Social & Political Science
Maxine.Bryant@armstrong.edu 

ACTIVE MINDS

ACTIVE MINDS

Description coming soon.

Advisor: Jeanne McGowan
Phone: 912.344.3259
Dept: Student Affairs
jeanne.mcgowan@armstrong.edu

ARMSTRONG GAMERS GUILD

ARMSTRONG GAMERS GUILD

Description coming soon. 

Advisor: Kevin Jennings
Phone: 912.344.2593
Dept: Criminal Justice, Social & Political Science
Kevin.Jennings@armstrong.edu 

AUTISM SPEAKS U ARMSTRONG

AUTISM SPEAKS U ARMSTRONG

An organization that provides awareness, education, and fundraising to further the mission of Autism Speaks.

autismspeaksuaasu@gmail.com
Advisor: Taylor Ferguson
Phone: 912.344.3278
Dept: Psychology
Taylor.Ferguson@armstrong.edu

CAMPUS UNION BOARD

CAMPUS UNION BOARD

Description coming soon. 

Advisor: 
Phone: 
Dept: 

 

COLLEGE LIBERTARIANS

COLLEGE LIBERTARIANS

A group dedicated to the promotion of libertarian theory.

Advisor: Jack Simmons
Phone: 912.344.2653
Dept: Languages, Literature, and Philosophy
Jack.Simmons@armstrong.edu

FEMINISTS UNITED

FEMINISTS UNITED

Feminists United is an organization that seeks to unite and empower women, spread awareness to social issues that pertain to women and other oppressed groups in our community and world-wide, and begin making the Armstrong campus activism-friendly.

armstrong.feminists@gmail.com
Advisor: Alison Hatch
Phone: 912.344.3527
Dept: Criminal Justice, Social and Political Science

GARDENING CLUB

GARDENING CLUB

description coming soon.

email
Advisor: Askash Mehta
aakash.mehta@armstrong.eduGAY-STRAIGHT ALLIANCE

GAY-STRAIGHT ALLIANCE

GAY-STRAIGHT ALLIANCE

The purpose of this organization is to provide a safe and comfortable surrounding for the promotion of unity and harmony and to bring visibility between gay-straight communities via GSA awareness, community service and social events.

gsa.aasu@gmail.com
Advisor: Deidra Dennie
Phone: 912.344.2669
Dept: Office of the President
Deidra.Dennie@armstrong.edu

GO GREEN ARMSTRONG

GO GREEN ARMSTRONG

The purpose of this organization is to educate, promote, and take on an active role in creating a more sustainable campus, along with other various eco-friendly initiatives both on campus and in our community.

gogreenarmstrong@gmail.com
Advisor: Alison Hatch
Phone: 912.344.3527
Dept: Criminal Justice, Social and Political Science
Alison.Hatch@armstrong.edu
Instragram: gogreenarmstrong
Facebook Page: Go Green Armstrong Environmental Group

HISPANIC OUTREACH AND LEADERSHIP AT ARMSTRONG (HOLA) Club

HISPANIC OUTREACH AND LEADERSHIP AT ARMSTRONG (HOLA) Club

An organization that coordinates activities that focus on Hispanic heritage and/or current issues for interested students, faculty & staff.

holaclub@armstrong.edu
Advisor: Lucero Aradillas
Phone: 912.344.3050
Dept: HOLA Program, Multicultural Affairs
Lucero.Aradillas@armstrong.edu 

INTERNATIONAL STUDENT ORGANIZATION (ISO)

INTERNATIONAL STUDENT ORGANIZATION (ISO)

The ISO provides an opportunity for International students to socialize while promoting an interest in and awareness of the diverse cultures represented on the Armstrong campus.

Advisor: Sara Nobles
Phone: 912.344.3128
Dept: International Education
Sara.Nobles@armstrong.edu

JAPANESE POP-CULTURE APPRECIATION CLUB

JAPANESE POP-CULTURE APPRECIATION CLUB

A club that promotes knowledge and appreciation of all forms of Japanese culture, which will include, but not be limited to: anime, manga, music, food, film, and videogames.

AASUAnimeClub@hotmail.com
Advisor: Hongjie Wang
Phone: 912.344.3130
Dept: History
Hongjie.Wang@armstrong.edu

MOOT COURT CLUB

MOOT COURT CLUB

A club that helps to develop and promote a learning environment for those interested in competitive legal argument by raising awareness of the benefits of participating in Moot Court. As well as foster a group of qualified members that plan to compete in Armstrong State University's Moot Court team.

Advisor: Chris Tecklenburg IV
Phone: 912.344.3160
Dept: Criminal Justice, Social & Political Sciences
Chris.Tecklenburg@armstrong.edu

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF ADVANCEMENT FOR COLORED PEOPLE (NAACP)

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF ADVANCEMENT FOR COLORED PEOPLE (NAACP)

The purpose of this organization is advancing the community’s knowledge in political, educational, economic, social, and physical wellbeing issues that affect all people regardless of race, ethnicity, and/or national origin.

armstrong.naacp@armstrong.edu
Advisor: Kwame Phillips
Phone: 912.344.3361
Dept: Student Affairs
Kwame.Phillips@armstrong.edu

PHILOSPHICAL DISCUSSION GROUP

PHILOSPHICAL DISCUSSION GROUP

An organization dedicated to the discussion of philosophical issues and developing a greater understanding of philosophic theory and history.

Advisor: Erik Nordenhaug
Phone: 912.344.2645
Dept: Language, Literature, and Philosophy
Erik.Nordenhaug@armstrong.edu

RESIDENTIAL STUDENT ASSOCIATION

RESIDENTIAL STUDENT ASSOCIATION

A organization that discusses Resident Life and assists in deciding on rules and events.

Advisor: Angela Storck
Phone: 912.344.3384
Dept: Housing & Residence Life
angela.storck@armstrong.edu

RROTARACT OF ARMSTRONG

ROTARACT OF ARMSTRONG

Description coming soon. 

Advisor: Julie Gerbsch
Phone: 912.344.2600
Dept: Advancement
Julie.Gerbsch@armstrong.edu

STUDENT ALUMNI ASSOCIATION

STUDENT ALUMNI ASSOCIATION

Description coming soon. 

Advisor: Cheryl Ciucevich
Phone: 912.344.2586
Dept: Alumni
cheryl.ciucevich@armstrong.edu

STUDENT VETERANS OF AMERICA (Armstrong Chapter)

STUDENT VETERANS OF AMERICA (Armstrong Chapter)

An organization to provide a college-based military veterans group dedicated to supporting the community, military members, fellow veterans, and students.

student.veterans@armstrong.edu
Advisor: Laura Pallini-Bolton
Phone: 912.344.2586
Dept: Academic Advising & Support
Laura.Pallini-Bolton@armstrong.edu

Honor Societies

Honor Societies

ARMSTRONG HONORS PROGRAM

ARMSTRONG HONORS PROGRAM

An organization that provides student leadership within the honors program.

honors@mailman.armstrong.edu
Advisor: Jonathan Roberts
Phone: 912.344.2910
Dept: Psychology
Jonathan.Roberts@armstrong.edu 

PHI ALPHA THETA

PHI ALPHA THETA

The International History Honor Society

Advisor: Michael Hall
Phone: 912.344.2978
Dept: History Dept
michael.hall@armstrong.ed

Sports Clubs

Sports Clubs

ARCHERY CLUB

ARCHERY CLUB

Description coming soon. 

Advisor: Sean Willett
Dept: Student Recreation Center
Phone: 912.344.3295
Sean.Willett@armstrong.edu

ARMSTRONG RUGBY CLUB

ARMSTRONG RUGBY CLUB

An organization to teach the skills and traditions of the great game of rugby to all students at Armstrong that wish to participate.

Advisor: Sara Germillion
Department: Biology
Phone: 912.344.2671
Sara.Germillion@armstrong.edu

TENNIS CLUB

TENNIS CLUB

Description coming soon. 

Advisor: Jason Salzer
Department: Recreation and Wellness
Phone: 912.344.2561
Jason.Salzer@armstrong.edu

NEWS:

Read More Armstrong French Club to Host 9th Annual Francophone Film Festival Feb. 16-18

(February 7, 2017) – Armstrong State University’s French Club will host the 9th Annual Francophone Film Festival Feb. 16-18 at the Ogeechee Theatre in the Student Union, located at 11935 Abercorn St. The festival will screen five French-language movies with subtitles covering a wide range of themes and issues. All screenings are free and open to the public.

Read More Armstrong Celebrates Black Heritage Month

(February 7, 2017) – This year’s celebration will feature a wide range of events, from timely lectures to a film festival and an Afro-Caribbean cuisine cooking competition. All events are free and open to the public.

Nu Zeta Chapter Donates More Than 2,000 Books to Hodge Elementary

(May 16, 2015) — The Nu Zeta Chapter of Kappa Delta Pi, part of the College of Education at Armstrong State University, recently handed out more than 2,000 books to Sarah Mills Hodge Elementary School students in Savannah in connection with Literacy Alive! 

Greek Life and University Staff Participate in ALS Ice Bucket Challenge

(August 28, 2014) — The ALS Ice Bucket challenge has taken social media by storm, and members of the Armstrong State University community have come together to show their support for ALS and the phenomenon that has garnered 1.9 million new donors and $88.5 million for the ALS Association.

View More Department News >