CACE Armstrong Police Chief Honored with 2013 Governor’s Public Safety Award

(Dec. 14, 2013) – Georgia Governor Nathan Deal recently presented Armstrong State University’s Chief of Police Wayne R. Willcox with a 2013 Governor’s Public Safety Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Profession. 

Willcox, who also serves as the director of the university’s Cyber Security Research Institute, was officially recognized at a special ceremony held at the Georgia Public Safety Training Center in Forsyth, Ga. on December 12. The Governor's Public Safety Award honored Willcox for his cyber forensics leadership, which has reduced the digital forensics backlog in southeast Georgia from 7 to 12 months to less than 30 days.

Originally from Piqua, Ohio, Willcox joined Armstrong in 2009. He previously worked at the Piqua Police Department in Piqua, Ohio for 37 years, retiring as Chief of Police prior to joining Armstrong. 

Over the years, Willcox has won numerous awards including the Spirit of Armstrong Award, the Ohio Behavioral Health Association Award for Innovative Leadership, an Ohio Senate Commendation for Outstanding Achievement, a Commendation for Community Service from the Ohio governor and the Bill Fox Community Service Award.

A Certified Law Enforcement Executive (CLEE), Willcox is a graduate of the FBI National Academy, Northwestern University's School of Police Staff and Command, The Police Executive Leadership College and The Edison Leadership Institute. He has an M.S. in Criminal Justice Administration from Tiffin University and a B.S. in Criminal Justice Administration from the University of Findlay.

The Governor’s Public Safety Award honors dedication and selfless work in the Georgia public safety profession. The award program was initiated by Governor Zell Miller in 1998 to provide an opportunity for the men and women of Georgia’s public safety community to be recognized for outstanding service to the citizens of Georgia. 


Read More COE Consolidation Forum

(February 06, 2017) The Dean of College of Education (COE) will hold an informal forum for College of Education students to discuss the consolidation. 

Read More Armstrong State University Signs Memorandum of Understanding With Ogeechee Technical College

(August 3, 2016) – Armstrong State University officials signed a memorandum of understanding with Ogeechee Technical College, located in Statesboro, Ga., on August 2, bridging the institution’s programs in Criminal Justice and Information Technology through a rigorous collection of major field courses.

Read More Center for Applied Cyber Education Awards $95,000 in Certifications and Scholarships at 2016 Summer Cyber Camp

(July 12, 2016) – Armstrong State University’s Center for Applied Cyber Education recently held the 2016 Summer Cyber Camp in conjunction with the Air Force Association’s CyberPatriot Camp curriculum, awarding $95,000 worth of cybersecurity certification scholarships to 16 rising high school juniors and seniors. Fourteen students were local, representing seven schools in the Savannah community. Camp sponsors included Mile2 Cyber Security Certifications and the U.S. Army ROTC, 6th Brigade.

Read More Armstrong Recognized as a CompTIA Authorized Academy Partner

(July 6, 2016) – Armstrong State University was recently selected to be an Authorized Academy Partner with CompTIA, the world’s largest developer of vendor-neutral information technology certification exams. Together, CompTIA and the Center for Applied Cyber Education at Armstrong will collaborate to provide high quality educational technology opportunities to students.

View More Department News >