Armstrong State University is now Georgia Southern University. For information about Fall 2018 and beyond, visit Current Armstrong students (spring and summer 2018) can continue to access information through For details about the consolidation, visit
h > LATEST NEWS HEADLINES > Open House and Annual Meeting

Open House and Annual Meeting

(June 22, 2016) A lively group filled Burnett Hall on Friday, June 3 for the 2016 Alumni Open House. Guests enjoyed refreshments and live entertainment by the City Hotel Band. University Vice-President Bill Kelso announced the record amount of alumni gifts, including the naming of our new Health Professions building by Don and Cindy Waters, $100,000 gift from an anonymous alumni family for an emergency food program, a $79,000 gift for the new tennis complex in memory of alumna Mary Sickel Smith, and more than $80,000 donated from the Bachelor of Business Administration alumni for a scholarship honoring former Armstrong professor Robert E. Lee Morgan. Finally, Alumni Association President Scott Scheidt ’03 welcomed the Class of 2016 into the Alumni family.

Afterwards, Alumni Association members gathered in Jenkins Theater for the Annual Meeting of the Alumni Association. Director of Alumni Development Cheryl Ciucevich announced the results from the Lighting Match, with alumni donating over $10,000 to light the athletic fields. The first $10,000 in gifts will be matched by the Alumni Association Board of Directors. Five new board members were appointed, and the slate of officers for 2016-2017 were approved. The incoming officers include President is Somi Benson-Jaja ’09, President-Elect Roger Smith ’90, Vice-President and Parliamentarian Kwame Phillips ’13 MA ’15, and Secretary and Historian Patty Parker ’92 ’95.

Outgoing President Scott Sheidt was awarded with a special plaque, and Alumni Director Cheryl Ciucevich presented the volunteer of the year awards. John Sewell ’60 is the Alumni Board Volunteer of the Year, and Lynn Roberts ’83 MEd ’85 is the Non-Board Member Volunteer of the Year. The Pirate Afar Volunteer of the Year is Tim Nicholson ’05, and Student Volunteer of the year is Nipuna Ambanpola

Les Sears

"I’m grateful to Armstrong for helping me start strong on a path to success.”

Les Sears
Class of 2010
Master of Science in Computer and Information Science