Armstrong State University is now Georgia Southern University. For information about Fall 2018 and beyond, visit Current Armstrong students (spring and summer 2018) can continue to access information through For details about the consolidation, visit
h > LATEST NEWS HEADLINES > In-State Tuition for Florida, South Carolina, and Alabama Residents Starting in Fall 2015

In-State Tuition for Florida, South Carolina, and Alabama Residents Starting in Fall 2015

(April 4, 2015) — Armstrong State University will offer in-state tuition to residents of Florida, South Carolina and Alabama, starting in the fall semester of 2015. The University System of Georgia’s Board of Regents recently voted to offer in-state tuition at 10 public universities, including Armstrong. 

“We’d like to offer our deepest thanks to Chancellor Hank M. Huckaby and the Board of Regents for their support in this landmark initiative,” said Armstrong President Linda M. Bleicken. “Because of their foresight, our neighbors in Florida, South Carolina and Alabama will have the option to attend a public university that is deeply invested in their futures, without the financial burden of out-of-state-tuition.”

While many Georgia universities, including Armstrong, already have agreements with certain counties in neighboring states allowing students to attend college at in-state tuition rates, this new policy will expand those agreements statewide. 

The new initiative will benefit residents of border states, as out-of-state tuition rates paid by non-Georgia residents at Armstrong and many Georgia universities can be significantly more expensive than in-state tuition rates. 

“We are delighted to make college more affordable for families across the region,” said Bleicken. “I look forward to the growth that this initiative will bring to the university and to expanding our longstanding commitment to supporting student success.”

For more information, visit

Jennifer Zettler

“I love interaction with the students.”

Jennifer Zettler
Teaching since: 2002