Georgia Southern University
In January 2018, Armstrong State University consolidated with Georgia Southern University. This site serves as the permanent web archives of the historic Armstrong State University. For current information about the Armstrong Campus of Georgia Southern University, visit
h > News > News Archives > Consolidation Implementation Committee Approves Recommendations to Promote Student Success

Consolidation Implementation Committee Approves Recommendations to Promote Student Success

(August 7, 2017) – Earlier today, the Armstrong State University/Georgia Southern University Consolidation Implementation Committee (CIC) met and approved recommendations to benefit students and promote student success. Recommendations included tailoring academic degree programs for students, streamlining administrative processes to be more efficient, and defining the new admission requirements for the new Georgia Southern.

The approved recommendations demonstrate the progress and momentum of the work groups, which are comprised of Armstrong State University and Georgia Southern University faculty, staff and students. The consolidation of Armstrong and Georgia Southern will ultimately increase access to public higher education, support student success, meet regional workforce development needs and prepare students to contribute to their fields of interest and to the region after graduation.

“Today marks a significant milestone in the development of the new Georgia Southern University and reflects the significant efforts of faculty, staff and students from both Armstrong and Georgia Southern working together to create a new institution to better serve our local communities, the region and the state,” said Georgia Southern University President Jaimie L. Hebert, Ph.D.

Degree Programs

The new Georgia Southern University will provide a comprehensive range of 142 degree programs beginning in the fall of 2018. The proposed degree plan will be submitted to the respective university curriculum committees and faculty senates for approval.

“The new Georgia Southern University will increase opportunities and options for students,” said Armstrong President Jennifer L. Frum, Ph.D. “We are strategically linking academic programs to regional workforce and economic development needs. It is important we get this right as the success of the consolidated institution will be directly tied to the region’s future economic prosperity.”  

More detailed curriculum plans for each degree will be submitted to the curriculum committees and follow the same process for approval during the fall semester. 

Admission Requirements

The CIC also took action to review and approve one set of admission requirements for incoming freshmen on Georgia Southern’s Statesboro and Armstrong campuses beginning Fall 2018. The new requirements blend the two institutions’ current freshman standards for SAT and ACT scores and require a high school grade point average (GPA) of 2.5.

“Faculty and staff from both institutions worked together to determine the best approach that serves the most students while ensuring student success,” said Georgia Southern University President Jaimie L. Hebert, Ph.D. “They closely examined data and research to ensure that our admission requirements broaden access for students while maintaining high quality academic standards for students who have demonstrated the ability to excel in a comprehensive university environment.”

Admission requirements for transfer and non-traditional students will remain the same, using University System of Georgia recommendations. Since the Liberty Campus in Hinesville serves a specialized population, it will continue as an open-access option for students.

Meanwhile, Georgia Southern applicants who are not admitted for the fall term may have the opportunity to enroll for the summer semester with the Eagle Incentive Program, a five-week summer program that offers access to campus resources and support to assist in the transition to college.

On Jan. 11, 2017, the University System of Georgia Board of Regents voted to consolidate Armstrong State University and Georgia Southern University, ultimately creating a new Georgia Southern University with three campus locations in Savannah, Hinesville and Statesboro. Consolidation Implementation Committee members, Functional Area co-chairs and Operational Working Groups uniting Armstrong and Georgia Southern faculty and staff are currently examining and working through all aspects of the consolidation.

For updates regarding the consolidation between Georgia Southern University and Armstrong State University, please visit

Michael Kelly

Michael Kelly
Class of 2018
Richmond Hill, Georgia