For more information about the consolidation of Georgia Southern University and Armstrong State University, visit
h > LATEST NEWS HEADLINES > 2017 Alumni Open House and Annual Meeting

2017 Alumni Open House and Annual Meeting

On Friday, June 2nd, alumni from near and far gathered for the 2017 Alumni Open House. Over 70 guests enjoyed delicious refreshments, corn hole games on Burnett Lawn and live entertainment by Jason Salzer MA '16 and Tobe Frierson.

Ondre Nelson '17 and Flo Cawley '69, '74 won the raffle for gift cards to the Armstrong bookstore.

Cheryl Ciucevich, Senior Director of Alumni Relations, welcomed the Class of 2017 into the Alumni family.

Afterwards, Alumni Association members gathered in Ogeechee Theater for the Annual Meeting of the Alumni Association. Awards were presented to Patty Parker '93, '95, who won the Armstrong Alumni Board Volunteer of the Year Award; Shawna Defreitas '17, who won the Armstrong Student Alumni Volunteer of the Year Award and Fran Arnsdorff '80, who won the Armstrong Non-Board Volunteer of the Year Award. Brian Dawsey, '03, M.Ed. '05 and Scott Scheidt '03 were also presented with awards for their service to the board.

The slate of officers for 2017-2018 was approved. The incoming officers include President, Roger Smith '90, Vice President, Catherine Kostilnik '82, MHS '89, and Secretary, Marini Jackson M.Ed. '15.

CarLeigh Buck

CarLeigh Buck
Class of 2017
Hinesville, Georgia