Georgia Southern University
In January 2018, Armstrong State University consolidated with Georgia Southern University. This site serves as the permanent web archives of the historic Armstrong State University. For current information about the Armstrong Campus of Georgia Southern University, visit
h > News > News Archives > College of Education Alumni Honored as 2017 Teachers of the Year

College of Education Alumni Honored as 2017 Teachers of the Year

(April 4, 2016) – Twenty eight Armstrong State University alumni were recently honored as 2017 Teachers of the Year at the Teacher of the Year Gala, held at the Savannah International Trade and Convention Center.

Savannah-Chatham County Board of Education President Jolene Byrne told attendees that this honor is given in recognition and appreciation of the teachers' service to students and families of Savannah-Chatham County Public Schools.

“We are incredibly proud to have 28 graduates from Armstrong’s College of Education selected as the Teacher of the Year at their respective schools,” noted Janet Buckenmeyer, dean of the College of Education. “To be recognized among more than 3,000 teachers at 54 schools is a distinct honor.”

Armstrong alumni receiving this honor include:

Name School
Leslie Anderson Savannah High School
Tywanna Hall Barnes     Windsor Forest High School
Becky Bethel      Hesse K-8 School
Deangela Brown Low Elementary School
Timothy Brown Groves High School
Constance Buckley     Jacob G. Smith Elementary School
Kathryn T. DeLettre     Heard Elementary School
Junea Scott-Goldwire    Windsor Forest Elementary School
Julie Hahn   Marshpoint Elementary School
Angel Harlin White Bluff Elementary School
Katie Holliday   Gould Elementary School
Natasha Holmes     Coastal Georgia Comprehensive Academy
Cathy LaCount Brock Elementary School
Sheila Lamb-Lindblad   Bloomingdale Elementary School
Melissa Maikos Beach High School
Melissa McCoy  Jenkins High School
Roger Pacheco  Godley Station K-8 School
Stacie Pottenger     Spencer Elementary School 
Alexander Roth West Chatham Middle School
Angela Miller-Singleton  Myers Middle School
Tammy Smith Tybee Maritime Academy
Brenda Grant-Stokes Butler Elementary School
Mary Summerford Savannah Arts Academy
Jessica Walker     Garden City Elementary School
Stacie Wheeler Shuman Elementary School
Zeyna Winston Gadsden Elementary School
Jennifer Wolfe   Charles Ellis Montessori Academy
Shannon Wood  Largo-Tibet Elementary School 


Bynikini Frazier

ÔÇťArmstrong provided me with that platform of support and enrichment that I needed to strengthen my craft as a teacher."

Bynikini Frazier
Class of 2010
M.Ed. in Elementary Education