Armstrong State University is now Georgia Southern University. For information about Fall 2018 and beyond, visit Current Armstrong students (spring and summer 2018) can continue to access information through For details about the consolidation, visit
h > Faculty & Staff > Faculty Affairs > Graduate Affairs Committee

Faculty Affairs: Graduate Affairs Committee

The Graduate Affairs Committee meets at 2:30 in Burnett Hall 125 on the 1st Tuesday of each month during the fall and spring semesters.

The Graduate Faculty is comprised of the President, the Vice President and Dean of Faculty, Academic Deans, and other University faculty members who meet the criteria in accordance with the bylaws.

GAC Membership

Graduate Affairs Committee Membership 2016-17

  • Kathy Bennett (Criminal Justice)
  • Maya Clark (Communication Sciences and Disorders)
  • Joey Crosby (Health Service Administration)
  • Ray Hashemi (Computer Science)
  • Chris Hendricks (History) (Vice chair)
  • Patricia Holt (Adult Education) (Chair)
  • Anne Katz (Reading Specialist)
  • Douglas Masini (at large)
  • Sara Plaspohl (Public Health)
  • Regina Rahimi (Curriculum and Instruction)
  • Bryan Riemann (Sports Medicine)
  • Barbara Serianni (Special Education)
  • Robert Terry (Professional Communication and Leadership) 
  • Anne Thompson (Physical Therapy)
  • Linda Tuck (Nursing)
  • Patricia Wachholz (Early Childhood Education)
  • Ellen Whitford (Secondary Education)
  • at-large vacancy
  • Ex officio members
    • Donna Brooks (Associate Provost for Academic Affairs and Graduate Studies)
    • Janet Buckenmeyer (Dean of Education)
    • Christopher Curtis (Dean of Liberal Arts)
    • Becky da Cruz (Associate Provost for Student Engagement and Success)
    • Delana Gajdosik-Nivens (Interim Dean of Science and Technology)
    • Allison Lyon (Assistant Director of Student Life, GSCC advisor)
    • Lori Morgan (GSCC representative)
    • Robert Smith (Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs)
    • David Ward (Dean of Health Professions)

2016/2017 Subcommittees

Graduate Curriculum Committee

Graduate Curriculum Subcommittee Meetings will be third Wednesday of each month at 2:00 in UH 282 unless otherwise noted.

UCC/GCC Style Guide

  • Maxine Bryant
  • April Garrity (Chair)
  • Ann Hallock
  • John Hobe
  • Brenda Logan
  • Tricia Brown
  • CLA vacancy

Graduate Student Appeals Committee

  • Joey Crosby (Chair)
  • Elizabeth Desnoyers-Colas
  • Frank Glenn
  • Jackie Kim
  • Greg Knofczynski
  • Pam Mahan
  • Regina Rahimi