Armstrong State University is now Georgia Southern University. For information about Fall 2018 and beyond, visit Current Armstrong students (spring and summer 2018) can continue to access information through For details about the consolidation, visit
h > ACADEMICS & DEGREE PROGRAMS > Colleges > Education > Current Students > Student Recognition

Education: Our Students

(April 6, 2017) – Twenty-nine Armstrong State University alumni were recently honored as 2018 Teachers of the Year at the Teacher of the Year Gala, held at the Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa.

Fifty-five teachers were honored from nearly every school in the district. Savannah-Chatham County Board of Public Education President Jolene Byrne told attendees that this honor is given in recognition and appreciation of their service to the students and families of Savannah-Chatham County Public Schools.

“We are incredibly proud to have 29 graduates from Armstrong’s College of Education selected as the Teacher of the Year at their respective schools,” noted Janet Buckenmeyer, dean of the College of Education. “To have graduates from our programs recognized among more than 3,000 teachers at 54 schools within the Savannah-Chatham County Public School System is a distinct honor.”

AACTE edTPA National Recognition

Brianna Plachy, Master of Arts in Teaching Secondary program completer
LaSaundra Colson Wade, Cooperating Teacher - A. E. Beach High School

Valerie Carr, Master of Arts in Teaching (Spring 2015) 

Paul Sidney, Master of Education in Curriculum & Instruction (Fall 2015)

Spotlight article about Paul Sidney

For more student stories, visit Armstrong Experience.