For more information about the consolidation of Georgia Southern University and Armstrong State University, visit
h > Faculty & Staff > Faculty Affairs > Awards & Recognition

Faculty Development: Awards

Armstrong prides itself on its diverse, teaching-focused faculty. Each year, the office of faculty development administers the university's faculty service awards, which distinguish professors for exemplary work in the various aspects of their academic responsibilities.

Faculty Awards

New Faculty Award:  Judge Ron Ginsberg Faculty Excellence Award

The Research, Scholarship and Awards Committee calls for nominations for the Judge Ron Ginsberg Faculty Excellence Award. Endowed by Water Utility Management, Inc. in honor of its board member, Judge Ron Ginsberg, this award recognizes the overall outstanding teaching (face-to-face, online or blended) of one full-time Armstrong faculty member in the 2016 calendar year.  

The committee will accept one nomination per department, and nominations should come from the department chair. Nomination packages should include the following materials:


The Research, Scholarship and Awards Committee will review the applications and make a recommendation to the Provost. If members of the Research, Scholarship and Awards Committee are nominees, they must recuse themselves from the application review process. Should multiple members of the committee earn nominations, the chair of the committee may ask deans to nominate substitute faculty members to serve on that committee.

Nominees must submit complete electronic packages in .pdf format to the Office of Faculty Development and Online/Blended Learning via email to no later than 5:00 PM, ET Monday, March 20, 2017.

Other Faculty Awards and Nominating Colleagues:

Award for Distinguished Faculty Service to the Community
Alumni Award for Distinguished Faculty Service to the Academic Discipline
Award for Distinguished Faculty Service to the University
Award for Distinguished Service by a Part-Time Faculty Member
Brockmeier Award
H. Dean Propst Award


Nominating colleagues for the Propst, Brockmeier or faculty service awards should follow the process below:

  1. Write and submit a letter highlighting the faculty member's accomplishments in terms of the award criteria.
  2. Attach the letter to a copy of the faculty member's curriculum vitae.
  3. Send letter and curriculum vitae to the the nominee's department head for a letter of support.
  4. The Department head will then scan and email the nomination to the Office of Faculty Development at by 5pm on March 20th, 2017.

Past award winners