For more information about the consolidation of Georgia Southern University and Armstrong State University, visit
h > Alumni > Awards > Awards Gala

Alumni Awards Gala

October 20, 2017
6 p.m.
Armstrong Center Ballroom

Armstrong State University will host the Fourth Annual Alumni Awards Gala on Friday, October 20, 2017.  The cocktail reception begins at 6 p.m. with dinner and ceremony at 7 p.m. Single tickets are $75 and a table of eight is available at a group rate of $500. Proceeds will go to benefit scholarship funds to build the next generation of Armstrong Alumni.

During the event, the Eminent Alumni Award will be presented to Irving Victor '41, the Distinguished Alumni Award will be presented to Cliff McCurry '68, the Outstanding Alumni Award will be presented to Drew Ernst '74 and the Notable Alumni Award will be given to 13 alumni. 

The 13 new Notable Alumni are:

Sherry Harvey Danello ‘79

Joseph Ferraro ‘93

Kevin Fitzmaurice ’99 ‘02

Dorothy Kempson ’00 ’02 MA’06 MA’14

Lamar Kirkley ‘75

Ginger Masingill ‘70

Daniel W. Massey ‘76

Krista Mincey MPH’07

Patrick O’Neil ‘01

Pamela Parker ’84 (posthumous)

David Plaspohl ‘77

Henry Precht ‘51

Patti Turner Victor ’76 MAT’10


Read More Armstrong honors its faculty, staff and Golden Graduates from the Armstrong Junior College days

Dozens of guests and Armstrong Alumni gathered to celebrate Armstrong's rich history and to honor their favorite faculty and staff from the Armstrong Junior College era.

Read More Armstrong Honors President Linda Bleicken and her commitment to the University

(June 21, 2017) After seven years as Armstrong State University’s president, Dr. Linda Bleicken will retire at the end of this month, but her legacy will never be forgotten thanks to the creation of the Linda and Carl Bleicken Commitment Fund. 

Read More Armstrong Alumni To Honor Faculty and Staff From Eight Decades

(June 15, 2017) – In a yearlong initiative, Armstrong State University’s Alumni Office will host four events to celebrate faculty and staff from the university’s four historic eras, which include The Golden Years: 1937-65; Armstrong State College: 1966-96; Armstrong Atlantic State University: 1997-2014; and Armstrong State University: 2015-17.

Read More A great time had by all at the Open House and Annual Meeting!

On Friday, June 2nd, alumni from near and far gathered for the 2017 Alumni Open House. Over 70 guests enjoyed delicious refreshments, corn hole games on Burnett Lawn and live entertainment by Jason Salzer MA '16 and Tobe Frierson. Afterwards, Alumni Association members gathered in Ogeechee Theater for the Annual Meeting of the Alumni Association. 

View More Department News >