Armstrong State University is now Georgia Southern University. For information about Fall 2018 and beyond, visit Current Armstrong students (spring and summer 2018) can continue to access information through For details about the consolidation, visit
h > About > Administration & Offices > President's Office > Presidential History

Office of the President: Presidential History

Past Armstrong Presidents

Ernest A. Lowe
1935 - 1941

J. Thomas Askew
1941 - 1943

Foreman M. Hawes
1943 - 1964

Henry L. Ashmore
1964 - 1982

Robert A. Burnett
Interim President 1982 - 1984
President 1984 - 1999

Frank A. Butler
Interim President 1999 - 2000

Thomas Z. Jones
2000 - 2009

Linda M. Bleicken
2009 - 2017


Read More Armstrong Signs Memorandum of Understanding with Consul General of Mexico to Provide Scholarships

(December 13, 2016) – On Friday, Dec. 9, Consul General of Mexico Javier Díaz de Leó visited Armstrong State University to sign a memorandum of understanding with Armstrong President Linda M. Bleicken. The Hispanic Outreach and Leadership at Armstrong program is a recipient of the Mexican Consulate’s 2016-2017 IME-Becas Scholarship Program, which benefits Mexican and Mexican-American students.

Read More Armstrong President Linda M. Bleicken Receives Beach Institute Education Award

(October 14, 2016) – Armstrong State University President Linda M. Bleicken was recently presented with the Beach Institute Education Award at the 19th Annual King-Tisdell Cottage Foundation Annual Awards Gala.

View More Department News >