For more information about the consolidation of Georgia Southern University and Armstrong State University, visit consolidation.georgiasouthern.edu.
h > ACADEMICS & DEGREE PROGRAMS > Academic Departments & Programs > Economics > Faculty & Staff

Economics: Faculty & Staff

Dr. Y. Saadatmand, Professor and Department Head
Yassaman.Saadatmand@armstrong.edu

Dr. Richard McGrathProfessor
Richard.McGrath@armstrong.edu

Dr. Michael Toma, Fuller E. Callaway Professor
Director, Center for Regional Analysis
Michael.Toma@armstrong.edu

Dr. Jason Beck, Associate Professor
Jason.Beck@armstrong.edu
Georgia Council on Economic Education (GCEE)  

Dr. Nicholas MangeeAssociate Professor
Nicholas.Mangee@armstrong.edu

Dr. Omid Ardakani, Assistant Professor
Omid.Ardakani@armstrong.edu

Dr. Chanchal Tamrakar, Assistant Professor
Chanchal.Tamrakar@armstrong.edu

Prof. Maliece Whatley, Lecturer
Maliece.Whatley@armstrong.edu

Dr. Aref Hervani, Instructor of Economics
Aref.Hervani@armstrong.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty

Prof. George Erwin
George.Erwin@armstrong.edu

Prof. Adrian Jay
Adrian.Jay@armstrong.edu

Prof. Robert Lee
Bob.Lee@armstrong.edu

Prof. Tom Thompson
Tom.Thompson@armstrong.edu

Prof. John Vandaveer
John.Vandaveer@armstrong.edu

Prof. Tom Whatley
Tom.Whatley@armstrong.edu

 

NEWS:

Read More Economic Monitor Reports Savannah Economic Growth in 1st Quarter 2017

(June 26, 2017) - Armstrong’s latest Coastal Empire Economic Monitor reports that the Savannah metro economy returned to healthy growth in the opening quarter of 2017, as the negative effects of Hurricane Matthew dissipated. Employment, airport travel, retail sales and consumer confidence were especially strong during this period, as was record-setting port activity.

Read More Making Connections: Small Business Class Opens Big Doors

(April 19, 2017) – In the Small Business Consulting course taught by Dennis Barber, Ph.D., Armstrong Economics professor and Small Business Institute director, undergraduates gain firsthand experience in Savannah’s small business community, which is a leader in the state.

Read More Economic Monitor Reports Economy Slowed in 4th Quarter

(March 6, 2017) - Armstrong’s latest Coastal Empire Economic Monitor reports that the Savannah metro economy slowed to a crawl in the closing quarter of 2016, largely due to the effects of Hurricane Matthew. As such, electricity and retail sales, as well as air travel, slipped. However, losses were offset by gains in employment, port activity and hotel room rentals. The area is expected to see healthy growth by mid-year.

Read More Economic Monitor Reports Economy Maintains Pace in 3rd Quarter, Expected to Slow

(January 3, 2017) - Armstrong State University’s latest Coastal Empire Economic Monitor reports the Savannah metro economy maintained its course of healthy growth through the third quarter of 2016. All current economic indicators increased from the second to third quarter, with the exception of retail trade. However, the forecasting index for the region declined during the quarter, signaling a potential slowdown on the horizon.

View More Department News >