h > ACADEMICS & DEGREE PROGRAMS > Academic Departments & Programs > Chemistry and Physics

Department of Chemistry and Physics

Welcome to the Department of Chemistry and Physics at Armstrong!  

In our department, you will find a host of excellent and engaging opportunities. From bachelor's degrees in biochemistry, chemistry and physics, as well as pre-professional programs, our department is full of possibilities. I encourage you to explore our website and visit our department to learn more about the people that make our programs special. 

Please write, call, or visit if you have any questions about our department, programs or people.

Will E. Lynch, Ph. D.
Department Head,Chemistry and Physics


Read More Dr. Brent Feske awarded $407,452 in grant money toward research in biocatalysis.

(October 22, 2015) – The National Science Foundation (NSF) recently awarded $407,542 to Dr. Brent Feske, associate professor of chemistry and interim associate dean of the College of Science and Technology, and Georgia Institute of Technology Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Professor Dr. Andreas Bommarius. 

Announcing the 2015 Georgia Power Scholars in the Department of Chemistry and Physics

(Jul 06, 2015) - Congratulations to the 2015 Georgia Power Scholars from the Chemistry and Physics Department.

Dr. Baird publishes a paper on gravitational potential in the Physics Educator

(Jun 22, 2015) - The paper, titled "Gravitational Potential: A Thought Experiment," describes an experiment related to the gravitational analog to electrostatic potential which is taught in the second semester physics.

Dr. Padgett publishes a paper in the New Journal of Chemistry

 (Jun 11, 2015) - The paper co-authored with colleagues from Georgia Southern University describes the novel sensor that can "sense" common anion.

View More Department News >