Armstrong State University is now Georgia Southern University. For information about Fall 2018 and beyond, visit Current Armstrong students (spring and summer 2018) can continue to access information through For details about the consolidation, visit
h > Chemistry and Physics > Chemistry & Physics: Student Scholarships

Chemistry & Physics: Student Scholarships

Student Scholarships Available to Biochemistry, Chemistry and Physics Majors

In the Spring Semester of each academic year, the department is proud to support our student success by participating in a number of scholarship opportunities.  These applications are accepted from any students who meet the criteria and full consideration by a faculty scholarship committee is given.  These scholarships are generally announced during the early part of the spring semester through department venues (Facebook, postings in the department, etc.).

The Dr. Henry and Ann Brandt Family Scholarship for Students Planning to Attend Medical School.  This scholarship, endowed in honor of the Brandt family, is to support a student attending Armstrong who is planning on applying to medical school.  Applicants must be either junior or senior standing in the Fall of the year in which they apply.  Students must have a minimum of 3.0 GPA to be considered. 

The Gary and Barbara Dorminey Scholarship is a scholarship for students majoring in biochemistry or chemistry.  The scholarship, endowed by the Dorminey family, is designated to support a student in honor of the family.  The applicant must be a major in biochemistry or chemistry and priority is given to students who are married and working full time.

The Dr. Martha B. Fay Scholarship for Biology, Biochemistry, and Chemistry Majors.  This scholarship, endowed in honor of Dr. Martha Fay, is to support a student attending Armstrong who is majoring in either biology, biochemistry or chemistry.  Applicants must be either junior or senior standing in the Fall of the year in which they apply.  Students must have a minimum of 3.0 GPA to be considered. 

The Kemira Pigments, Inc. Scholarship Fund in Chemistry.  This scholarship, endowed by Kemira Pigments, Inc., is designated for a biochemistry or chemistry major who is also a full time student.

The Dr. Robert Kolodny Scholarship for applied physics, biochemistry and chemistry majors.  The Kolodny Scholarship, is endowed to support majors within the Department of Chemistry and Physics.  Dr. Kolodny was a long-time faculty member in the department who was recognized as an outstanding teacher and for his commitment to students. Applicants must have a GPA of 3.0 or higher, be a declared major in physics, biochemistry or chemistry and also have completed either CHEM 1211/1211L or currently enrolled in PHYS 2211K.

The Dr. David Robinson Memorial Scholarship Fund for Students Planning to Attend Medical School.  The Robinson Scholarship is endowed to support students who have junior / senior standing at the beginning of the fall semester in which they apply for the scholarship.  The Robinson Scholarship is a memorial in honor of Dr. David Robinson and requires students to have a minimum 3.0 GPA at time of application.

Recent Awardees

Year Brandt Dorminey Faye Kemira Robinson

Maya Wallace

Cicely Curtis

Alexis Lorbecki

Tara Morrison

Naiyill Morales Krystin Allaire

Ariana Vargas

Alexia Charlot


Annalise Evans

Kimberly Mandigo

  Lance Michon Craig  

Bo Culjan

Keith Sullivan

  Delia Singleton  


Read More Armstrong Professors Awarded $330,000 U.S. DOE Mathematics and Science Partnerships Grant

(November 16, 2016) – The U.S. Department of Education recently awarded a $330,967 grant to Donna Mullenax, Janel Smith and Elizabeth Williams. The two-year grant will support STEM education in Savannah-Chatham County Public School System (SCCPSS).

Read More Armstrong State University Chemistry Professors Awarded National Science Foundation Grant

(July 15, 2016) – The National Science Foundation (NSF) recently awarded $279,297 to seven chemistry professors at Armstrong State University.  Dr. Brandon P. Quillian (Principal Investigator), Dr. Sarah E. Gray, Dr. Gary Guillet, Dr. Cliff Padgett, Dr. Nathaniel Shank, Dr. Mitch Weiland and Dr. Sarah Zingales received a two-year grant for “Polymer Chemistry: Cross-linking the Curriculum (PC3).” The grant supports the infusion of polymer chemistry, a multidisciplinary science, throughout the curriculum.

Read More Armstrong Biochemistry Student Named American Chemical Society Scholar

(June 16, 2016) – Alexis Fields, a Biochemistry major at Armstrong State University, has been named a 2016-2017 Scholar by the American Chemical Society (ACS), the world’s largest scientific professional society dedicated to advancing chemistry, supporting diversity and encouraging future chemists. Fields is one of only 130 students selected from across the United States for this prestigious honor.

Read More Dr. Brent Feske awarded $407,452 in grant money toward research in biocatalysis.

(October 22, 2015) – The National Science Foundation (NSF) recently awarded $407,542 to Dr. Brent Feske, associate professor of chemistry and interim associate dean of the College of Science and Technology, and Georgia Institute of Technology Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Professor Dr. Andreas Bommarius. 

View More Department News >