Special Interest Organizations

 

AFRICAN CARIBBEAN STUDENT ORGANIZATION

A culturally based organization for African Caribbean students attending Armstrong.
Advisor: Kristin Kasting
Phone: 912.344.3042
Department: Inernational Education
Kristin.Kasting@armstrong.edu
 

AMNESTY INTERNATIONAL

An organization promoting a vision of the world in which every person enjoys all of the human rights enshrined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other international human rights standards
Advisor: Jason Tatlock
Phone: 912.344.3126
Department: History
Jason.Tatlock@armstrong.edu
 

ANTHROPOLOGY CLUB

An organization that promotes the learning of Anthropology in all aspects.
Advisor: Barbara Bruno
Phone: 912.344.2970
Department: Criminal Justice, Social & Political Science
Barbara.Bruno@armstrong.edu
 

ARMSTRONG WELLNESS INITIATIVE NOW

An organization that promotes heath and wellnes for all students at Armstrong.
Advisor: Jason Salzer 
Phone: 912.344.2561
Department: Student Recreation Center
Jason.Salzer@armstrong.edu
 

AUTISM SPEAKS U ARMSTRONG

An organization that provides awarness, education, and fundraising to further the mission of Autism Speaks.
Advisor: Jane Wong
Phone: 912.344.3170
Department: Psychology
Jane.Wong@armstrong.edu
 

CIRCLE K INTERNATIONAL OF ARMSTRONG

An organization whose purpose is to develop college and university students into a global network of responsible leaders with a lifelong commitment to service.
Advisor: Julie Gerbsh
Phone: 912.344.2600
Department: Advancement
Julie.Gerbsch@armstrong.edu
 

COLLABORATION MODELS

An organization that promotes interest in all areas of the fashion industry
Advisor: Loren Johnson
Phone: 912.344.2988
Department: Housing and Residence Life
Loren.Johnson@armstrong.edu
 

COLLEGE LIBERTARIANS

A group dedicated to the promotion of libertarian theory.
Advisor: Jack Simmons
Phone: 912.344.2653
Department: Languages, Literature, and Philosophy
Jack.Simmons@armstrong.edu
 

COLLEGIATE 100

An organization dedicated to nurturing and enhancing the growth, development and opportunities for African-American youth.
Advisor: Fernando Foster
Phone: 912.344.3022
Department: Computer and Information Services
Fernando.Foster@armstrong.edu
 

FEMINISTS UNITED

An organization designed to unite and empower women in order for them to become independent and self-sustaining members within our community
Advisor: Alison Hatch
Phone: 912.344.3527
Department: Criminal Justice, Social and Political Science
Alison.Hatch@armstrong.edu
www.armstrongfeminists.wordpress.com

GARDENING CLUB

A club to unite the Armstrong community with sustainable agriculture by creating a culture characterized by awareness of ecology, horticulture, and biology.
Advisor: Melanie Link-Perez
Phone: 912-344-3310
Department: Biology
Melanie.link-perez@armstrong.edu
 

GAY-STRAIGHT ALLIANCE

The purpose of this organization is to provide a safe and comfortable surrounding for the promotion of unity and harmony and to bring visibility between gay-straight communities via GSA awareness, community service and social events
Advisor: Ella Howard
Phone: 344.3349
Department: History
Ella.Howard@armstrong.edu
http://aasugsa.yolasite.com
 

GO GREEN ARMSTRONG

The purpose of this organization is to educate, promote, and take on an active role in creating a more sustatainable campus, along with other various eco-friendly initiatives both on campus and in our community.
Advisor: Alison Hatch
Phone: 912.344.3527
Department: Criminal Justice, Social and Political Science
Alison.Hatch@armstrong.edu
 

GOSPEL CHOIR

The purpose of this choir is to foster awareness of gospel music to college students and the general public, to promote interest in African American singing, academic performance, and unity among the student body
Advisor: Lottie Scott
Phone: 912.344.3284
Department: Adult and Nontraditional Student Services
Lottie.Scott@armstrong.edu
 

HOLA (Hispanic Outreach & Leadership at Armstrong)

An organization that coordinates activities that focus on Hispanic heritage and/or current issues for interested students, faculty & staff
Advisor: Melody Rodriquez
Phone: 912.344.2652
Department: HOLA Program, Student Affairs
Melody.Rodriguez@armstrong.edu
 

INTERNATIONAL STUDENT ORGANIZATION

The ISO provides an opportunity for International students to socialize while promoting an interest in and awareness of the diverse cultures represented on the Armstrong campus
Advisor: Kristin Kasting
Phone: 912.344.3042
Department: International Education
Email: Kristin.Kasting@armstrong.edu 
 

JAPANESE POP-CULTURE APPRECIATION CLUB

A club that promotes knowledge and appreciation of all forms of Japanese culture, which will include but not be limited to: anime, manga, music, food, film, and videogames.
Advisor: Hongii Wang
Phone: 912.344.3130
Department: History
Hongjie.Wang@armstrong.edu
 

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF ADVANCEMENT FOR COLORED PEOPLE

The purpose of this organization is advancing the communities knowledge in political, educaitonal, economical, social, and physical well being issues that affect all people regardless of race, ethnicity, and/or national origin.
Advisor: Nashia Whittenburg
Phone: 912.344.3018
Department: Multicultural Affairs
Nashia.Whittenburg@armstrong.edu
 

PHI ALPHA DELTA (Pre-law Fraternity)

A professional organization devoted to developing students professionally for the workforce or graduate school after matriculation.
Advisor: Becky da Cruz
Phone: 912.344.2748
Department: Criminal Justice, Social & Political Scence
Becky.Dacruz@armstrong.edu
 

PRE-PHYSCIAN ASSISTANT CLUB

The purpose of this organization is to educate students interested in a career as a physician's assistant about the profession and eductional requirements.
Advisor: Debbie Tucker
Phone:912.344.3347
Department: Biology
Debbie.Tucker@armstrong.edu
 

RESIDENTIAL STUDENT ASSOCIATION

A organization that discusses Resident Life and assists in deciding on rules and events. 
Advisor: Loren Johnson
Phone: 912.344.2988
Department: Housing
Loren.Johnson@armstrong.edu
 

RHO BETA CHAPTER OF ALPHA PHI OMEGA

A organization that promotes service-based leadership development.
Advisor: Vann Scott
Phone: 912.344.2601
Department: Psychology
Vann.Scott@armstrong.edu
http://www.apo.org
 

THE PHILOSOPHICAL DEBATE GROUP

An organization dedicated to the discussion of philosophical issues and developing a greater understanding of philosophic theory and history
Advisor: Erik Nordenhaug
Phone: 912.344.2645
Department: Language, Literature, and Philosophy
Erik.Nordenhaug@armstrong.edu
 

STUDENT COUNCIL FOR EXCEPTIONAL CHILDREN

The Council for Exceptional Children is the largest international, non-profit organization that provides support and information for children with disabilities and the gifted, their families, and those who work with these children. The Armstrong chapter of the Student Council for Exceptional Children wants to help those with disabilities and gifts in the school system as well as in the community.
Advisor: Kelly Brooksher
Phone: 912.344.2822
Department: Art, Music & Theater
Kelly.Brooksher@armstrong.edu
 

STUDENT VETERANS OF AMERICA (ARMSTRONG CHAPTER)

An organization to provide a college-based military veterans group dedicated to supporting the community, military members, fellow veterans and students.
Advisor: Laura Pallini
Phone: 912.344.2948
Department: Registrar
Laura.Pallini@armstrong.edu