Dr. Padgett (chemistry) is part of a consortium of chemists to receive funding from the National Science Foundation. 

Dr. Clifford Padgett (chemistry) has received funding from the NSF Division of Chemistry for $200,000 for the award titled “#1229354  MRI: Acquisition of High Performance Computers for the Molecular Education and Research Consortium in Undergraduate computational chemistRY (MERCURY)”.  The Principal Investigator of this award from the MRI program is Professor George Shields from Bucknell University (former Dean of the College of Science and Technology at Armstrong) and includes collaborators from a variety of primarily undergraduate institutions that include Maria Gomez (Mount Holyoke), Carol Parish (U of Richmond), George Shields (Hamilton), Marc Zimmer (Connecticut), Maria Nagan (Truman State), Tricia Shepherd (Westminster), Mauricio Cafiero (Rhodes), Kelling Donald (Richmond), Becky Eggimann (Wheaton), Daqing Gao (Central State), Clifford Padgett (Armstrong Atlantic State U), Eric Patterson (Truman State), Adam Van Wynsberghe (Hamilton), Kelly Anderson (Roanoke College), Sudeep Bhattacharyay (U. Wisconsin-Eau Clare), Jim Phillips (U. Wisconsin-Eau Clare), and Aimee Tomlinson (North Georgia College) will acquire a computer cluster with an estimated 8 teraFLOPS of processing power and 14 terabytes of additional disk space.