Scholarship Information

Dr. Yassaman Saadatmand


The Economics department offers several scholarships to assist our students.

H. Russell Martin, Jr. Award

The H. Russell Martin, Jr. Award for Outstanding Achievement in Economics will be given annually to an economics major at the Armstrong State University Awards Convocation. The recipient will be a rising senior who has demonstrated the potential to make important contributions in the area of applied economics or entrepreneurship and will be selected by a committee which includes one member of the Martin family. The award will include the student's name on a permanent plaque in the department, an individual certificate or plaque, and a cash award. The cash award will be determined by the interest on the endowment in any given year and can be used for student development, such as travel to professional meetings, workshops, publications, graduate school applications, and memberships.

Who was H. Russell Martin, Jr.?

H. Russell Martin, Jr. was a successful businessman and entrepreneur who died in 1995. His contributions included the renovation of a large number of commercial and residential buildings in the Savannah historic district. Although he studied engineering at Clemson and earned a degree in economics at Florida State, he always considered his early education at Armstrong among his most valuable experiences.

Lillian A. Hood

The Lillian A. Hood scholarship, established by Mr. Dale Lewis (class of 1992), was first awarded in 2011. Mrs. Hood, a great encouragement to Mr. Lewis while he obtained his B.G.S. in economics at Armstrong, understands that there are people willing to work hard, but need support. 

This scholarship is awarded annually to a student selected among those that meet the following criteria:

  • A rising sophomore, junior, or senior in good academic standing in the Economics major
  • A proven performance and/or support for a competitive Economics Team, with a minimum GPA of 3.2 on a 4.0 scale
  • A full-time student at Armstrong

Mary Foy Space Award

The Mary Foy Space Scholarship for Economics will be awarded annually to an economics major to pay tribute to Mary Foy Space’s exceptional career as one of the first women stock brokers in the United States. Recipients will be selected according to the following criteria:

  • Female student enrolled at Armstrong State University
  • Have earned at least 60 credit hours at time of award
  • Declared major in Economics or Business Economics
  • Scholarship is renewable for up to two years as long as the student continues to meet the award criteria

Who was Mary Foy Space?

Mrs. Mary Foy Space was a native of Savannah and the daughter of Mr. & Mrs. John Ellison and Elizabeth Hazlehurst Foy. He was the Savannah Police Superintendent for more than 20 years and she was a Savannah public schools teacher for over 30 years. Mary attended Savannah High School, UNC-Chapel Hill and Armstrong in 1943-44 and again in 1963. She was active in a variety of campus roles including the Home Economics Club, the Alpha Tau Sorority, Homecoming Committee, the Riding Club, and was a sophomore editor of the yearbook. She also later attended night school at Armstrong while pursuing studies to become a Securities and Exchange Commission Registered Representative in 16964. This enhanced her career with the Johnson Lane Space Smith and Co. brokerage in Savannah where she ran the trading desk for over 20 years. Beyond being one of the first women stock brokers in the country, she was also active locally in a variety of community roles including being a member of the Daughter of the American Revolution for over 60 years and held several key roles; serving on the Women’s Board of the Bethesda Home for Boys for many years; and similarly serving on the Board of the Fresh Air Home at Tybee Island.