Writing Committee Bylaws


The Writing Committee will promote student achievement in writing and foster campus- wide support for the principles of effective writing in all academic disciplines.


The committee shall conduct an annual campus-wide forum and may sponsor other activities to address writing strategies that are generic, program, or discipline specific. The committee will also assist the Director of the Writing Center in recruiting qualified students to serve as writing tutors and in encouraging greater faculty participation in the work of the Writing Center.


The committee shall consist of seven faculty members and two students: one faculty representative from each of the four colleges of the university, one at-large member, one Faculty Senate Representative, the Director of the Writing Center, one student nominated by the Director of the Writing Center and one undergraduate student nominated by the Student Government Association. The Director of the Writing Center shall serve as an ex officio, non-voting member of the committee.


The committee shall meet at least twice each semester of the academic year. The committee will determine meeting dates and times to be posted on the senate website.


The committee will, upon approval, provide minutes of each of its meetings to the Secretary of the Senate for posting. At the end of each academic year, the chair of the committee will submit to the Senate a summary report of committee activities.

Approved February 2009