Interdisciplinary Studies Committee Bylaws


The Interdisciplinary Studies Committee will establish and maintain liaisons with departments in all schools and colleges for the purposes of encouraging program development, promoting existing programs, and coordinating interdisciplinary studies at Armstrong Atlantic State University.


The committee will (1) serve as an advisory group that will monitor and advocate for the development and effectiveness of interdisciplinary courses and programs and (2) assume ad hoc responsibilities as they arise.


The committee shall be composed of nine to fifteen faculty members: it must include the coordinators of all interdisciplinary majors. A minimum of five faculty representing various interdisciplinary minors or certificates shall serve on this committee. A chair for the committee shall be elected at the first meeting of each academic year. The faculty members of the committee shall serve two year terms.


This committee shall meet at least once per academic semester. The committee will determine meeting dates and times to be posted on the senate website.


The minutes of each meeting will be provided to the Secretary of the Senate for posting. At the end of each semester, the chair of the committee will submit to the Senate a summary of committee activities.

Approved January 2010