The Alumni Center team at Paint the Town Maroon 2015.

Meet Our Team

Alumni programming at Armstrong is led by the Director of Alumni Development in consultation with the Alumni Association’s Board of Directors.  The Director also works closely with key departments across campus to offer a variety of programs and services—these include Career Services, Enrollment Services, Athletics, Student Life, and the Academic Colleges. The Director is a member of the Advancement Division, under the leadership of Vice President Bill Kelso.

Members of the Board of Directors are nominated by other alumni, then recommended by the Nominating Committee, and then confirmed by the current Board. Board members may serve two three-year terms. There are at least 18 but no more than 30 Board members, not including ex officio members. Past Board Presidents, the President of the Student Government Association, and the President of the Graduate Student Coordinating Council may serve as nonvoting ex officio members. 

Director of Alumni Development

photo of Cheryl Anderson, Director of Alumni DevelopmentCheryl Anderson is the Director of Alumni Development at Armstrong State University, where she oversees a broad-based Alumni Engagement Program, that seeks to enable alumni to connect with students, with the university, and with each other through a variety of programs, events, and outreach efforts. Since her arrival in 2012, Armstrong has seen a dramatic increase in alumni participation rates and alumni volunteerism. 

Cheryl previously held a series of positions at Kennesaw State University for 16 years, where she established the professional arts box office, created an alumni magazine, implemented a donor recognition program, and instituted the annual Flourish Awards program. She concluded her KSU career as director of public relations and director of development for the College of the Arts. Prior to her work at KSU, she served as the program coordinator for MidSummer Macon, a nonprofit arts education program, and the Center for the Arts at Wesleyan College in Macon, Ga.

A noted presenter, writer, event planner, and project manager, Cheryl has earned numerous awards for her work including several Awards of Excellence from the Council for Advancement in Support of Education (CASE) and a From Success to Significance Award from Kennesaw State. She has been a featured presenter at conferences for CASE District III and for the Georgia Education Advancement Council.

Cheryl earned a Master of Arts degree in professional writing from Kennesaw State and a Bachelor of Arts degree in international relations from Wesleyan College, where she was a presidential scholar. She also enjoyed an incredible study-abroad experience at the International Summer School at the University of Oslo in Norway, thanks to a scholarship from Rotary International.

Among her friends, Cheryl is renowned for her far too-extensive interest in the histories and biographies of princesses. Her blog, "Princess Palace," attracts thousands of international readers each week.

Raised in an Air Force family, Cheryl has lived in five states and the Panama Canal Zone. She is a graduate of Savannah High School, and is proud to call Savannah her hometown.

Alumni Program Coordinator

Danielle Debien joined the team in March 2015.










Graduate Assistant for Communication

Remy Wilkins is our Graduate Assistant. He maintains communication with Armstrong alumni through a variety of traditional and new media. Remy assists in maintaining the alumni website, Facebook page, Twitter feed, and other media outlets. A 2013 Armstrong graduate, Remy is a second-year Doctor of Physical Therapy student at Armstrong, as well as a Savannah native.

Student Assistant for Engagement

Hailee Peardon is our Student Assistant. She acts as our receptionist for the office, as well as providing telephone outreach to alumni regarding upcoming events. Hailee also prepares materials for upcoming events as well as maintaining office materials. Hailee is from Calhoun, Ga. and is a sophomore pre-nursing student at Armstrong.