Armstrong Atlantic State University Savannah Georgia.

Dorothy Kingery, Linda Bleicken and Larry Stuber

Savannah City Council Recognizes AASU’s 75th Anniversary

(June 5, 2010) Savannah City Council recognized Armstrong Atlantic State University’s 75th anniversary with the reading of a proclamation in the Mercer House on May 27. Dorothy Kingery, a former AASU faculty member and member of the AASU Foundation Board, opened up her historic Savannah home for the event.

Guests included AASU President Linda Bleicken, Clayton State University President Tim Haynes, Georgia College and State University President Dorothy Leland, North Georgia College & State University President David Potter and Felita Williams and Melinda Spencer with the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia.

Savannah Alderman Larry Stuber read the proclamation on behalf of Mayor Otis Johnson.

Also attending were Armstrong alumni G. Herbert Griffin, Class of 42, and Irving Victor, member of Armstrong’s inaugural Class of 1937 and a member of the AASU Foundation Board.
Joining them were James Sanders of the Skidaway Institute of Oceanography and Cliff McCurry, vice chairman of SeaCrest Partners and trustee of AASU’s Educational Properties Foundation, Inc.

Armstrong is celebrating 75 years of serving the Savannah community. The university was established in 1935 with the support of Savannah Mayor Thomas Gamble and other city leaders.

A history of Armstrong researched and written by AASU professor of history emerita Janet Stone will be published in book form this coming fall. To reserve a copy, contact .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) at 912.344.2870. In September, the university will host an event to celebrate the opening day of Armstrong Junior College in 1935.

Latest Headlines

Armstrong Receives Board of Regents Approval to Drop “Atlantic” From University Name

Faculty and Staff Honored at 2014 Leadership Awards Ceremony

Armstrong to Host TechFest 2014 on April 11

Armstrong Collaborates with Georgia Southern to Host Annual Meeting

Armstrong to Host InterProfessional Health Care Summit