AASU Pirates are the 2009 NCAA Division II Men's & Women's Tennis National Champions.

National Champion Pirates Return Home To Savannah

(May 17, 2009) Friends, family and fans of Armstrong Atlantic State University (AASU) tennis braved the rainy weather and welcomed home the 2009 NCAA Division II Men's & Women's Tennis National Champions on Sunday at Compass Point on the AASU campus.

On Saturday in Altamonte Springs, Fla., the Armstrong Atlantic State men's tennis team won a five hour-long match and defeated Barry University (Fla.), 5-4, for the program's second NCAA Division II national championship. Sophomore Rafael Array won a three-set match over Barry's Roman Werschel, 6-4, 5-7, 6-3, to earn the clinching point and give the Pirates the title.

Not to be outdone, the Lady Pirates claimed a 5-2 win over Lynn to earn the program's fifth NCAA Division II national championship. Gabriella Kovacs' three-set victory over Jessica Yanoff, 4-6, 6-4, 6-4, was the deciding point as AASU avenged its only loss of the 2009 regular season against the Lady Knights.

Both teams have now won back-to-back national championships, a feat only accomplished one other time in college tennis history. Congratulations Pirates!

For more information on the AASU Pirates clinching national championships, visit http://www.aasupirates.com.


Latest Headlines

Greek Life and University Staff Participate in ALS Ice Bucket Challenge

Faculty Lecture Series Kicks Off with John Jensen

Liberty Center Groundbreaking in Hinesville on September 10

University Representatives Meet with Israeli Consul General

Move-In Day! The Class of 2018 Occupies Windward Commons