25 Teacher of the Year Honorees Received Training at Armstrong

(Oct. 25, 2013) Nearly half of the Savannah-Chatham County Public Schools 2015 Teacher of the Year honorees received training at Armstrong, including two of the four finalists.

Of the 51 educators recognized at a special reception on October 10, 25 teachers studied Education at Armstrong, including Bynikini Frazier and Sara Maier, two of the finalists for the 2015 Teacher of the Year Award.

“Our graduates are impressive teachers and role models for students, colleagues and schools throughout the Savannah-Chatham Public Schools system,” said Dr. Patricia Wachholz, Dean of Armstrong’s College of Education. “At every grade level, Armstrong alumni are making a positive impact on public education.”

The finalists for the 2015 Teacher of the Year Award include Bynikini Frazier, Hodge Elementary School; Sara Maier, J.G. Smith; Willie Andrew Haynes, Jr., Hubert Middle School; and Timothy Cone, Woodville Tompkins Technical & Career High School.

Each finalist will advance to district-level competition to participate in a month-long judging process which includes classroom observations and panel interviews. One of these finalists will be named the 2015 District Teacher of the Year.

The Teacher of the Year program recognizes the top educators from across Savannah-Chatham County Public Schools. In the past five years, the competition has produced three Top 10 Georgia State Finalists.

Latest Headlines

Inaugural Mark Finlay Memorial Lecture Featuring Acclaimed Musician and Environmentalist

2015 Engineering Design Challenge on April 25

Farmer’s Market Coming April 22

University to Host Blackfish and Plastic Paradise Film Screenings on April 22

Graduate Student Earns First Place Honors in FastPitch Competition